Abuja – FCT

FCT Nigeria
Center of Unity

Year of Creation

February 5, 1976

Size of State

7,315 sq km

Capital City


Other Major Town(s)

Abaji, Bwari, Gwagwalada, Kuje, and Kwali

Major Ethnic Group(s)

Gbagyi, Bassa, Gades, Gwadaras, Konos, and Ganaganas

 Language(s) Spoken

Hausa, Gade, Gbagyi, Gbari and Nupe


Tropical climate marked by two distinct seasons; the dry season (November – March) and the wet season (April – October)

  • Abuja is the Federal Capital Territory; It officially began functioning in as the capital on the 12th of December 1991
  • In 1976, it was selected by the Federal Government to become the new seat of government due its central location, easy accessibility to and from other states, low population density and the availability of land for future expansion.
  • Abuja is unique in its heterogeneity of the inhabitants. The area belongs to no particular group of people and shared equally by all citizens of Nigeria, thus living up to its design as symbol of the Nigerian Unity.
  • Natural Resources: Marble, Tin, Mica, Clay, Wolfromite, Tantalite and Talc.

Zuma Rock

Once used for defensive purposes the rock is believed to possess powers that rendered enemies powerless and provided the Gwari natives with a good hiding place. Zuma Rock also offers a good environment for picnicking and relaxation.

Ladi Kwali Pottery Centre

Established in 1951 by late Mr. Micheal Cardew, a British potter of international repute, the centre trains native traditional potters in the art of modern pottery-making in order to preserve and protect this rich cultural heritage.

Gurara Waterfalls

The falls are best described as Nigeria’s premier falls, is located along Minna-Suleja Road.

  • Aso Hill
  • Jabi Dam
  • The Abuja Plant Nursery