1 of 36 Nigerian States

Year of Creation

October 1, 1996

Size of State

10,773 sq km

Capital City


Other Major Town(s)

Sagbama, Nembe, Ogbia and Southern Ijaw

Major Ethnic Group(s)

Izon, Nembe, Ogbia, Epie,-Atissa, Urhobo, and Isoko

 Language(s) Spoken

Ijo, Biseni, Oruma and Okodia


Tropical climate marked by two distinct seasons; the dry season (November – March) and the wet season (April – October)

State Website

  • About 85 % of the state lies on water
  • It has the most rivers, including Rivers Niger, Nun, Bartholomew, Pennington, Dodo, Santa Barbara, Brass, and St Nicholas.
  • Bayelsa was also part of Rivers State until its creation in 1996 and the name is an acronym of three former Local Government areas – Brass, Yenagoa and Sagbama.
  • The first commercial oil discovery was made at (Otuabagi/Otuogadi) in Oloibiri district by Shell Darcy on Sunday 15 January 1956
  • Natural Resources: Crude Oil, Natural Gas, Fine Sand and Clay

Akassa Lighthouse

Standing approximately 60m tall by the seaside in Akassa, this structure is reputed to be the tallest lighthouse in West Africa. It was originally built in 1910, but relocated to its present site in 1912.

  • The Oloibiri Oil Museum
  • The Akassa Raid Graveyard
  • The War Boat at Aleibiri
  • The Slave Transit Hall, Akassa
  • Manilla bronze heads in the Opokuma forest near Oloibiri